Canada
Héctor Berganza · Pexels

Canada eSIM and SIM cards: the network barely matters here

Canada is the rare country where you can stop worrying about coverage — the Big 3 cover 99% of populated areas and share rural towers. Which leaves price, and Canadian data is dear: $25 for an airport SIM, more than a month of 10 GB online.

Canada eSIM plans compared

  • Nomad50 GB · 30d$69$1.38/GB✓ checkedBest value10 plans
    DataDaysPricePer GB
    1 GB7$7$7
    3 GB30$8$2.67
    5 GB30$13$2.60
    10 GB30$17$1.70
    Unlimited3$18—
    Unlimited5$25—
    Unlimited7$30—
    20 GB30$31$1.55
    Unlimited10$35—
    50 GB30$69$1.38

    Check Nomad prices →

  • Airalo50 GB · 30d$84$1.68/GB✓ checked30 plans
    PlanDataDaysPricePer GB
    Canada Mobile1 GB3$7$7
    Canada Mobile3 GB3$8$2.67
    Canada Mobile Plus1 GB3$8.50$8.50
    Canada Mobile3 GB7$9$3
    Canada Mobile Plus3 GB3$13$4.33
    Canada Mobile5 GB7$14$2.80
    Canada Mobile Plus3 GB7$14$4.67
    Canada Mobile5 GB15$15$3
    Canada Mobile10 GB7$18$1.80
    Canada Mobile5 GB30$18$3.60
    Canada MobileUnlimited3$19—
    Canada Mobile10 GB15$20$2
    Canada Mobile Plus5 GB7$20$4
    Canada Mobile Plus5 GB15$22$4.40
    Canada Mobile10 GB30$23$2.30
    Canada Mobile Plus5 GB30$24$4.80
    Canada Mobile Plus10 GB7$26$2.60
    Canada MobileUnlimited5$27—
    Canada Mobile Plus10 GB15$28$2.80
    Canada Mobile Plus10 GB30$31$3.10
    Canada MobileUnlimited7$32—
    Canada Mobile20 GB15$34$1.70
    Canada MobileUnlimited10$35—
    Canada Mobile20 GB30$37$1.85
    Canada MobileUnlimited15$45—
    Canada Mobile Plus20 GB15$48$2.40
    Canada Mobile Plus20 GB30$48$2.40
    Canada Mobile50 GB30$84$1.68
    Canada MobileUnlimited30$86—
    Canada Mobile Plus50 GB30$96$1.92

    Check Airalo prices →

  • Saily20 GB · 30d$43.99$2.20/GB✓ checked5 plans
    DataDaysPricePer GB
    1 GB7$5.29$5.29
    3 GB30$12.99$4.33
    5 GB30$17.99$3.60
    10 GB30$30.99$3.10
    20 GB30$43.99$2.20

    Check Saily prices →

  • HolaflyUnlimited · 3d$17.90unlimited✓ checked6 plans
    DataDaysPricePer GB
    Unlimited3$17.90—
    Unlimited5$25.50—
    Unlimited7$32.90—
    Unlimited10$34.90—
    Unlimited15$44.90—
    Unlimited30$86.90—

    Check Holafly prices →

  • eSIM Go10 GB · 30d$19$1.90/GBnot sold to travellers2 plans
    DataDaysPricePer GB
    3 GB30$9.50$3.17
    10 GB30$19$1.90

    There is nowhere to send you. eSIM Go sells wholesale to resellers rather than to travellers: its site offers “Contact Sales” instead of a checkout, publishes no consumer price, and has no per-country pages — checked on 18 August 2026. The figures above have never been verified and cannot be, because the product is not on sale to the public.

Providers marked ✓ checked were read from their own site on ; those marked indicative come from our earlier research and are not yet verified. Rows marked not sold to travellers are for a wholesale platform that sells to resellers rather than to the public, so the prices shown cannot be bought at any checkout and are listed only to show what our older dataset contained. Providers change pricing without notice — check before buying. Host networks marked ? are taken from provider listings and have not been confirmed by us; where no network is shown, the provider does not publish one. How we check prices.

Canada mobile networks

Best for visitorsRogers or Bell/TelusAverage 4G48 MbpsNetworks4
NetworkWhat it's likeTravel eSIMs using it
Rogers CommunicationsRogers, Bell, and Telus (the Big 3) together cover 99% of Canada's populated areas. Bell and Telus share rural tower infrastructure under a reciprocal agreement. Rogers has the widNone disclosed
Bell CanadaRogers, Bell, and Telus (the Big 3) together cover 99% of Canada's populated areas. Bell and Telus share rural tower infrastructure under a reciprocal agreement. Rogers has the widNone disclosed
TelusBest for visitorsRogers has the widest 5G footprint. Bell/Telus share infrastructure for rural coverage. For Rocky Mountains, any Big 3 carrier covers main tourist routes.None disclosed
Freedom MobileRogers, Bell, and Telus (the Big 3) together cover 99% of Canada's populated areas. Bell and Telus share rural tower infrastructure under a reciprocal agreement. Rogers has the widNone disclosed

First, check whether you are already covered

A large share of visitors to Canada arrive from the United States, and a number of US plans include Canadian data as standard. If yours is one of them, the correct purchase here is nothing. Check the roaming terms on your own plan before you spend anything — it takes two minutes and it is the only free outcome on this page.

For everyone else, Canada is a straightforward country to buy data in, with one caveat about price that we will come to.

The network question is quieter here than almost anywhere

Most of these country pages spend their length on which network you should be riding, because in most countries the gap between the best and worst is the gap between having a map and not. Canada is the exception, and it is worth saying plainly so you can stop worrying about it.

Rogers, Bell and Telus — the Big 3 — together cover 99% of Canada's populated areas. Bell and Telus share rural tower infrastructure under a reciprocal agreement, so the two of them behave much like one network once you leave the cities. Rogers has the widest 5G footprint. And for the Rocky Mountains specifically, our research says any Big 3 carrier covers the main tourist routes.

Disclosure is thinner than this page used to claim. No seller names a host network for Canada. Airalo, Nomad, Saily and Holafly publish nothing at all, here or anywhere. eSIMCard publishes host networks elsewhere, but we hold no read of its Canadian listing. eSIM Go cannot be checked in either direction: it sells wholesale to resellers and has no consumer page at all. An earlier version of this page put Nomad on Rogers and Telus, eSIM Go on Rogers, eSIMCard on both and Holafly on Rogers; every one of those came from our own older text rather than from the sellers. eSIMCard's Canadian prices went the same way on 18 August 2026, once we read its site. In Canada it barely matters, which is the point of this section. The average download speed we record nationally is 48 Mbps.

The practical consequence: in Canada, buy on price and validity. That is a genuinely different recommendation from the one we give for Australia or Mexico, and it is the reason this page is shorter on coverage and longer on cost.

Canada is dear, and the airport is dearest

Canadian mobile data is expensive by international standards and the travel eSIM market reflects it. Ten gigabytes for 30 days runs from about $17 to $31 depending on the seller — against $15.50 in Turkey and $18 in Japan and Australia from the same providers.

The best per-gigabyte rate in our Canadian pricing is Nomad's 50 GB for 30 days at $69, or $1.38 a gigabyte, read off Nomad's own site on 17 August 2026 — below Airalo's verified $1.68 on its own 50 GB month. Nomad's 20 GB at $31 is $1.55. An earlier version of this page put the floor at $1.50 a gigabyte on Nomad's 20 GB month; the $30 we printed for it was never checked. Nomad's verified 10 GB at $17 is the sensible mid-market buy — the eSIM Go row at $19 is not an alternative, because eSIM Go sells wholesale to resellers and publishes no consumer price anyone can pay; Saily's 10 GB for 30 days, read from its own site on 16 August 2026, is $30.99 and sits at the top of that range rather than the middle. Holafly's unlimited plans run $25.50 for five days and $86.90 for thirty. Holafly names no Canadian carrier, so the Rogers attribution this page carried here was ours, not Holafly's.

Then there is the airport, where our data records a typical local SIM at $25 — the highest of the eight countries in this comparison, and more than a 10 GB eSIM costs for a month. No ID is required, which is the one thing in its favour. We cannot tell you what allowance that $25 includes because we have not verified it, and we are not going to guess. But given that the network barely matters in Canada, the usual reason to buy locally — choosing your carrier deliberately — does not apply here either. There is not much of a case left.

How much data a Canadian trip needs

Cities are undemanding: maps, transit apps and messaging across two weeks in Toronto, Montreal or Vancouver sit inside 10 GB comfortably. A driving holiday changes it, mostly through hours of live navigation and the habit of downloading everything over hotel wifi before the next leg. Twenty gigabytes is the safer buy for a road trip, and at $31 it works out at $1.55 a gigabyte — though the 50 GB month at $69 is better again at $1.38.

Three Canadas from one provider

Airalo sells Canada under three product names at markedly different prices. These were read from Airalo's own site on 13 August 2026:

Product10 GB / 30 days20 GB / 30 days50 GB / 30 days
Canada Mobile$23$37$84
Canada Mobile Plus$31$48$96

There is a third, unlimited line — Canada Mobile — at $27 for five days and $86 for thirty.

The Plus product costs 35% more at ten gigabytes and 30% more at twenty for the same allowance over the same thirty days. What that premium buys is not stated by Airalo: it publishes the three names and the prices, and nothing about how the packages differ. It could be the host network, a speed policy, a fair-use rule, or nothing but packaging, and we are not going to pick one. What you can do is see which package you are buying, because the names are on the listings. If you are choosing between them and cannot get an answer out of the product page, take Canada Mobile.

Unlimited, and when it stops making sense

Holafly's Canadian plans are priced by window, not by the gigabyte: $17.90 for three days, $25.50 for five, $32.90 for seven, $34.90 for ten, $44.90 for fifteen and $86.90 for thirty, all read off Holafly's own site on 18 August 2026. It publishes no host network, in Canada or anywhere, so the Rogers this sentence used to name came from our own older text. Holafly sells six windows and no others — 3, 5, 7, 10, 15 and 30 days — so the 1- and 14-day plans this page used to list do not exist. Those are indicative prices from our earlier research rather than a live checkout, so treat them as approximate.

The comparison that matters is the last one. Thirty days of unlimited data costs $67.90; twenty metered gigabytes for the same thirty days costs $31. You are paying roughly double for the privilege of not watching a counter, in a country where 20 GB is more than most travellers use in a month.

There are two cases where that is still the right call. If you tether a laptop all day, metered plans disappear fast and unlimited is genuinely cheaper. And the one-day plan at $5.90 is a good product for a long layover in Toronto or Vancouver, where buying 3 GB you will never finish makes less sense.

The Rockies, briefly

Banff, Jasper and the Icefields Parkway are the itinerary people worry about most, and our research is reassuring: any Big 3 carrier covers the main tourist routes, and Bell and Telus share the rural infrastructure between them. You do not need to pay extra for a specific network to drive that corridor.

What you should do instead is what you would do in any mountain country — download offline maps before you leave a town, and do not treat a phone as your only navigation on a long backcountry day. That advice has nothing to do with which SIM you bought.

What we'd do

If a US plan already covers Canada, use it and buy nothing.

Two weeks in Toronto, Montreal or Vancouver: a 10 GB eSIM at around $17, bought before flying. Do not spend time on the network question — the Big 3 have it covered.

A Rockies road trip: Nomad's verified 20 GB at $31, or its 50 GB month at $69 if you would rather stop counting — that row is the cheapest gigabytes in our Canadian data at $1.38.

Skip the $25 airport SIM unless your handset cannot take an eSIM at all. Check eSIM support by exact model before you rely on that.

Common questions

Which Canadian network is best for tourists?

It matters less than almost anywhere. Rogers, Bell and Telus together cover 99% of Canada's populated areas, Bell and Telus share rural tower infrastructure under a reciprocal agreement, and Rogers has the widest 5G footprint. For the Rocky Mountains, our research says any Big 3 carrier covers the main tourist routes. Buy on price instead.

Does my US phone plan work in Canada?

Often, but not always. A number of US plans include Canadian data as standard while others charge daily roaming fees, and only your own plan's terms will tell you which. It is worth two minutes of checking before buying anything, because for a lot of American visitors the right purchase here is nothing at all.

Is it worth buying a SIM card at a Canadian airport?

Rarely. Our data puts a typical Canadian airport SIM at $25 — more than a 10 GB eSIM costs for a month, and the highest airport price of the eight countries in this comparison. No ID is required, which is its one advantage, but the usual reason to buy locally is choosing a network, and in Canada that choice barely changes anything.

Why does Airalo sell three different Canada plans?

Because it sells them as three separate products: Canada Mobile and Canada Mobile Plus for capped data, and plain Canada Mobile for unlimited. Read from Airalo's own site on 13 August 2026, Canada Mobile Plus costs 35% more than Canada Mobile at 10 GB over 30 days ($31 against $23) and 30% more at 20 GB ($48 against $37). Airalo does not state what the Plus package adds, so we are not going to invent a reason — but you can at least tell them apart by name, and unless the product page explains the premium, take the cheaper one.